[Solved] LibreOffice File format error found at SAXParse

Help with installation and general system troubleshooting questions concerning the office suite LibreOffice.
okuribidreams

[Solved] LibreOffice File format error found at SAXParse

Post by okuribidreams »

Hello, I am an editor and I finished yesterday editing this file for a book due to be published soon.
The coworker that had it after me told me they found it impossible to open it and it gives me the SAXParse error, which I absolutely can't seem to find a way to fix. :crazy:
My coworker's deadline is on the 22nd so if any of you could find a way to fix this corrupted file, I'd be indebted to you forever.

My email is gaia.marino.87<at>gmail.com

The file: https://www.dropbox.com/s/xj859j4nva7db ... .docx?dl=0

Thank you so much!
Last edited by Hagar Delest on Sat Jun 17, 2017 4:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: tagged [Solved].
OpenOffice 3.1 on Windows 10
RoryOF

Re: LibreOffice File format error found at SAXParse

Post by RoryOF »

The file as placed on Dropbox opened without error in OpenOffice on my Xubuntu system. In case it is of help I have sent you an .odt version of it, which you can resave to .docx.
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.15 on Xubuntu 22.04.4 LTS
okuribidreams

Post by okuribidreams »

Thank you so much for your help, but sadly, the file is not complete - it should be around 100k words but that's slightly more than 50k. I guess the error must be around where the file stops for you.
RoryOF

Post by RoryOF »

Yes, you are correct: the last words in the XML file are " Una nera piuma di rondine." However, the XML file parses correctly and there is presumably some erroneous cutoff point in the file, beyond which the parser will not travel. I think the error occurs at (close to) location 1833069. I'm at the end of a very long day and won't try anything as I might damage the file even more. Perhaps someone else will make an attempt.
okuribidreams

Post by okuribidreams »