LibreOffice Writer 3.3

Help with installation and general system troubleshooting questions concerning the office suite LibreOffice.
newtolinux99999

LibreOffice Writer 3.3

Post by newtolinux99999 »

I am running Ubuntu Linux 11.04 with LibreOffice 3.3 . I have had no issues with saving files and opening them in .rtf format until today. I tried to change the format to .odt, but then realized Linux does not use file extensions like Microsoft and this did not resolve the issue anyways. I am new to Linux and am trying to get the document to open. Every time I try to open the document with LibreOffice Writer (I have also tried viewing with different ways, including uploading file online and emailing to other people), I get an error message "General Error: Input Output Error" and the document will not load. This issue just started today as I was able to view the file last night just fine. I have not installed any new software and have tried un-installing LibreOffice and re-installing, but no resolution. Any help or ideas are appreciated. Thanks.
Ubuntu 11.04 and LibreOffice 3.3
RGB

Re: LibreOffice Writer 3.3

Post by RGB »

For the input/output error, try to restart your LibO's user profile.
About the file extension: Linux do no care about file extensions but about file content. File extensions on Linux are more for the user and as a matter of fact you can have files without file extensions and work with them without problems.
Note: changing .rtf by .odt on the file name will not change the file type (and this is independent from the operative system), but opening the rtf file and doing a "Save as" will change it if you select odt format on the corresponding menu.
There are two types of people: those who believe that there are two types of people and those who do not.

openSUSE Leap with KDE Plasma / LibreOffice
newtolinux99999

Post by newtolinux99999 »