[Solved] Text Style on selected only

Discuss the presentation application
jhearcht

[Solved] Text Style on selected only

Post by jhearcht »

I select some of the text on one slide and add a shadow style. But the shadows now appear on text boxes on other slides. How can I apply the shadow style only to the selected text boxes?
Last edited by jhearcht on Mon Mar 28, 2016 7:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Open Office 4.1.1 on Windows 10
lalithr312

Re: Text Style on selected only

Post by lalithr312 »

jhearcht wrote:I select some of the text on one slide and add a shadow style. But the shadows now appear on text boxes on other slides. How can I apply the shadow style only to the selected text boxes?
jhearcht,

I wasn't able to reproduce this error. How did you select the text?
OpenOffice 4.1.1 on Windows 10
jhearcht

Post by jhearcht »

lalithr, thanks for the reply.

This is my first project with OO. I just selected the text box and ctrl-A to select all text. Then I made a change, such as adding a shadow. But after closing, I discover that the modification now applies to all text of that style. The problem seems to be that I have to use the Edit Style function to make the change. I don't want to use the Shadow button. So how can I add a controllable shadow to a line of text without changing all of the same style?

PS__I don't see a way to just select a line of text, and see all of its properties in one place : such as, font, style, and formatting, plus modifications. That would make customizing text and objects much easier. When I select a text box or just a line of text within a box, I don't see any indication of its Style anywhere.

PPS__For example, I have notes in black and in white fonts. I want the while text to have black shadows.
example 2 : I have a numbered line with white text, and want to make the number white to match.
Last edited by jhearcht on Sun Mar 27, 2016 4:06 am, edited 4 times in total.
Hagar Delest

Post by Hagar Delest »