Need help setting up a slideshow

Discuss the presentation application
TVD

Need help setting up a slideshow

Post by TVD »

Hello. I've used "real" Power Point the past few years, but now have downloaded Open Office and have some questions about how to set up a slide show for my purposes using Impress. I'm a musician and use Power Point to put my musical charts in a slide show to use during performances. Many of my charts are old hand written ones I wrote years ago, then scanned them into my computer. The rest, newer ones, are ones I write on my computer using a special font. The older scanner charts are considered "picture" files on my cpu, in the TIF format. The newer charts are in the DOC format. This is key I know. Here's my issue though. When setting up a slide show using Impress, the older TIF picture charts fit into a slide perfectly, no problemo. However, the newer chart files, the DOC ones do not. To get these in a new slide I click Insert, object, ole object, create from file, search. This then opens up my file with my charts in it, and I can select the one I want for that slide. But, When I pic a DOC file, on the slide it only shows up as a small square box in the middle of the slide, and only the title can be seen. What I have to do then is double click on the little box in the middle of the slide, and that opens it up, then I can take it grab the edge and stretch it out so it can be viewed in that slide. My basic question is what can I do to avoid this, so the DOC files will show up perfectly in the slides upon insertion as the TIF files already are. Someone advised my to download PDF995 and convert them to PDF files, and I did download it, but I can't seem to figure out at all how to convert any of my charts to PDF files. Totally missing something there.