Adding database cell into impress

Discuss the presentation application

Adding database cell into impress

Postby randor » Fri Aug 14, 2015 2:31 am

Hello,

Is it possible to add data from an individual cell of a database into a text area of an impress slide?

I have a database that has 2 columns and 5 rows of data, I want to be able to update the database and when I open my Impress slideshow, the updated info in the database shows up in different text areas throughout my slideshow.

I know about using "Add OLE Object" but that just adds the complete database as a spreadsheet.. not helpful for my needs.

Thank you for any help

Bob
Open Office 4 On Windows 10.1
randor
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 2:21 am

Re: Adding database cell into impress

Postby Villeroy » Fri Aug 14, 2015 1:24 pm

You mean spreadsheet cells? Copy&Paste should do the job. A spreadsheet is not a database.
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, no OpenOffice, LibreOffice 6.4
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 28436
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Adding database cell into impress

Postby randor » Fri Aug 14, 2015 1:38 pm

I mean either calc or base, I can use either, copy and paste defeats the purpose. I am hoping to automate the process, add to the spreadsheet/database and have it automatically update in impress..
Open Office 4 On Windows 10.1
randor
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2015 2:21 am

Re: Adding database cell into impress

Postby Villeroy » Fri Aug 14, 2015 3:08 pm

The tables in Draw/Impress can not be linked. The only thing I can think of is a grid control which draws an input form onto any kind of document. Unfortunately, OpenOffice can not handle the attached file where I tried to demonstrate it. I had to do it with LibreOffice.

Reported as https://bz.apache.org/ooo/show_bug.cgi?id=126461
Attachments
form_grid.odp
presentation with "biblio.dbf" form grid
(11.01 KiB) Downloaded 226 times
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04, no OpenOffice, LibreOffice 6.4
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
 
Posts: 28436
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Adding database cell into impress

Postby RoryOF » Fri Aug 14, 2015 3:23 pm

Here is a macro to insert text into a presentation
http://www.experts-exchange.com/Software/Office_Productivity/Office_Suites/Star_OpenOffice/Q_27703730.html

If the text could be passed from Base.... [perhaps via a string in the macro?]

This will be an interesting exercise for the long winter evenings :-)
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.7 on Xubuntu 18.04.4 (mostly 64 bit version) and very infrequently on Win2K/XP
User avatar
RoryOF
Moderator
 
Posts: 31236
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2009 9:30 pm
Location: Ireland


Return to Impress

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests