[Solved] Impress "Graphics filter not found" error message

Discuss the presentation application
Bradish

[Solved] Impress "Graphics filter not found" error message

Post by Bradish »

XP Pro SP3, OO 2.4.1
(6/11/2008)
I am just beginning to learn Impress. I've never used PowerPoint to create a presentation. I have the "0500IG-ImpressGuide.pdf" file which I'm using to learn.

What I have done:
- Created a simple text outline of what I want to present as a guide
- Opened Impress and used the wizard to begin the creation of a presentation (no special options taken)
- Created a "Title Slide" and a couple of "Title, Text" pages using "Layouts"
- Selected the "lyt-cool" master
- Chose to create the 4th slide using the "Title, Object" layout
* Double clicked on image icon to insert a GIF file
- Had trouble figuring out how to center and size image (my problem, I'll work this out)
- Tried several sizes (of the same GIF file) and options (such as linking to image) and didn't have much success with resizing and centering, there was a large white space around the image which isn't in the original
- After maybe a half dozen or so of these tries I received the message "Graphics filter not found" when I attempted to insert the GIF by double clicking on the icon for adding an object
- Clicked OK and received "General Error. General input/output error."
- Clicked OK and received "Object from file file:///C:/Documents%20and%20Settings/Peter/Desktop/John%20Edison%20Presentation/dutch_windmi_lg.gif could not be inserted."
- Clicked OK and was returned to "Title, Object" layout slide editing
- Repeated tries cycled through the above steps starting with line marked with *
- Closed OO and opened it again with slides created above, no change
- Rebooted, no change.