[Dropped] Using a macro to format cells and enter a value

Creating a macro - Writing a Script - Using the API (OpenOffice Basic, Python, BeanShell, JavaScript)
Bob May

[Dropped] Using a macro to format cells and enter a value

Post by Bob May »

Hi. I am a newbie here and first time on the forum.
What I have to do is select a number of empty vertical cells, this can range from 2 to 30 cells, go to format, merge and place a 1 in the now single merged cell then go on to the next series of cells. I have been looking at macros as these seem to be the best way to do it but I can't see how I can use them for my purpose.
Can anyone help me please.
I am using OpenOffice 4.1.14 and windows 10.
Thank you in advance.
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Thu Apr 06, 2023 3:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Dropped: No attachment provided when requested -- MrProgrammer, forum moderator
OpenOffice 4.1.14 on Windows 10
FJCC

Re: Using a macro to format cells and enter a value.

Post by FJCC »

What determines the number of cells that should be merged? That is, how can you tell whether it is 2 or 30?
Why are you merging the cells? Merged cells often cause problems with calculations. Would it work to put a 1 in all of the cells?
Can you upload and example file? To upload a file, click Post Reply and look for the Attachments tab just below the box where you type a response.
OpenOffice 4.1 on Windows 10 and Linux Mint
If your question is answered, please go to your first post, select the Edit button, and add [Solved] to the beginning of the title.
JeJe
Volunteer

Re: Using a macro to format cells and enter a value

Post by JeJe »

Have you tried the macro recorder?
Windows 10, Openoffice 4.1.11, LibreOffice 7.4.0.3 (x64)
Zizi64
Volunteer

Post by Zizi64 »

I have been looking at macros as these seem to be the best way to do it but I can't see how I can use them for my purpose.
The best way to format cells is the usage of the Cell Styles.