<AutoField> issue

Discuss the database features
Buickspec6231

<AutoField> issue

Post by Buickspec6231 »

Hello,

I am fairly new to the database word. At work I have been using Microsoft Access, but since they updated the computers without notice, I am no longer able to Access our old databases. I was able to successfully install OpenOffice and able to open the old Access file. However, I am unable to add new data to the databases.

The <AutoField> will not automatically create a new line number. I can input the data into the other columns, but the first column is labeled as Auto#. It will not auto number, and after I get to the end of a row, I can not tab down or enter down to the next row. I get an error message saying "Error inserting the new record / Field must contain two (four) digits".

I did not build the original database in Access. This is my only experience with database entry. Any help would be greatly appreciated. A bit of a warning, I will need to be spoken to like a complete newbie. I do not have much experience in the computer word outside of basic word documents, emails, and similar things.

:crazy: :crazy: :crazy:

Repectfully,

Dan
OpenOffice 4.1.4
Windows 10
eremmel

Re: <AutoField> issue

Post by eremmel »

Insert data into a table with Base requires that the table has a primary key (PK) defined. MS Access tables do not have always a PK defined. You might validate PK existence first.
It's Microsoft marketing that tells you computers are qualified for non-technicians
W11 22H2 (build 22621), LO 7.4.2.3(x64)
UnklDonald418
Volunteer

Re: <AutoField> issue

Post by UnklDonald418 »

With Tables selected in the left column of the main Base window, right click on the table you are trying to add data, then select Edit from the list of options.
Look on the left column of the Table Design dialog, is there a Field with a small yellow key?