Issues with installing under all versions of MS Windows
stu par

Document in use, locked for editing by Unknown User

Post by stu par »

Hello, please be gentle and very basic.

When I try to open a previously saved file in Writer I get the dialogue box

[
Document in use
Document file 'example document file name because it's the same with all of them' is locked for editing by:

Unknown User.

Open read only or a copy of the document for editing
]

It is quite infuriating and I can see no way of becoming a known user - I have regisetered on the program already, and always allow the PC close down properly (These are suggestions I have seen {and understood} in the forums)

If anyone can describe how to resolve this issue to a complete novice I will be grateful and extend whatever this platforms positive kudos is.

Thanks in advance,
Stu

Edit: Changed subject, was Unknown user? It's me! WTF! 
Make your post understandable by others 
Added text of message to allow others to find this topic 
-- MrProgrammer, forum moderator 
Last edited by MrProgrammer on Fri Jun 10, 2022 4:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: New subject
Open Office 4.1.12, Windows 10 pro 64 bit
stu par

Re: Unknown user? It's me! WTF!

Post by stu par »

Further - opening the read only version and clicking the edit button gives
[
This document cannot be edited, possibly due to missing access rights. Do you want to edit acopy of the document?
]

I don't want to back to using Jarte, but this is quite inconvenient.

Thanks again
FJCC

Re: Unknown user? It's me! WTF!

Post by FJCC »

You have some stray lock files that need to be deleted. First, shutdown OpenOffice. Open the folder that contains a file you want to edit and make hidden files visible. To do that, click the View menu near the top left of the folder window then select the Hidden Items box. Now look for files whose names starts with .~lock. Delete all of them.
In the address bar of the folder that shows which folder you are in, enter