Need help creating an extension for Writer

Discussions about using 3rd party extension with OpenOffice.org
Osgaldor

Need help creating an extension for Writer

Post by Osgaldor »

I want to create an extension in OpenOffice Basic for writer. It needs a dialog box to collect a numeric value from the user (I think I'm okay with that process) and I'd like to create a little panel to output a text message either in the toolbar section at the top or in the little bar at the bottom of the window. I can't seem to find the documentation for how to create such a small panel in the window interface. Can anyone point me in the direction of the information I'm looking for? I'd kind of like to put my extension's output in the little block at the bottom left of the window where it keeps up with the page numbers. I want to be able to change to color of the text in the output panel.

I'm a fairly experienced developer in Visual Basic, Java, Python and several others. I'm building my extension in Basic.

My extension will as the user to enter a target number of words, like for a writing goal for the day and it will keep track of the word count as they write and notify the user when they have reachedtheir desired number of words.
JeJe
Volunteer

Re: Need help creating an extension for writer

Post by JeJe »

You want to add an item to the status bar?

There's the proper statusbar controller method that I don't understand and you might not be able to do it with Basic anyway

https://wiki.openoffice.org/wiki/Framew ... Controller

Or you can use the following and investigate with MRI how to add an item and set it.

Code: Select all

els = thiscomponent.currentcontroller.frame.layoutmanager.elements
for i = 0 to ubound(els)
if right(els(i).resourceurl,9)= "statusbar" then
statussettings = els(i).getsettings(true)
mri statussettings
exit for
end if
next
Windows 10, Openoffice 4.1.11, LibreOffice 7.4.0.3 (x64)
Osgaldor

Post by Osgaldor »