[Solved] Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Discuss the spreadsheet application
Post Reply
nichollsvi
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

[Solved] Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by nichollsvi »

Hi,
I have Ooma, and it uses the right arrow to separate the fields. Looks like: https://www.calculators.org/math/html-arrows.php, U+02192. How do I, when I import this data in, get the information separated into columns using that?

I took a look at the FAQ and I think from what I saw, it was all standard.

Thanks,

Vic
Last edited by nichollsvi on Wed May 05, 2021 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
Posts: 6597
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by RusselB »

In the Text Import Dialog there is an option where you can enter a custom character where you have the common separators.
It's marked as Other:
Beside that word you can one or more characters that are custom to your situation.
You'll have to get the actual character (what you see, not the ASCII value), copy it, then paste into the box marked Other
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
nichollsvi
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by nichollsvi »

Have you ever tried that? That's why I'm asking on here.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
Posts: 6597
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by RusselB »

Yes I have used the Other option
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
nichollsvi
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by nichollsvi »

So you've taken a copy of it and put it in the actual other box? I can't get that to happen.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
Posts: 6597
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by RusselB »

Make sure you get just the character.
Copy/paste can include unwanted hidden characters.
Your best bet is to copy the character from the file.
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
nichollsvi
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by nichollsvi »

If you imported from Ooma you would know that the character disappears on a basic import and that you can't screen the character.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
Posts: 6597
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by RusselB »

I never said I'd imported from that program.
I said I had copy & pasted into the Other box when the character I was wanting wasn't available on the keyboard.
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
nichollsvi
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by nichollsvi »

Well it doesn't work. Do we have a support system we can put it on?
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
Posts: 6597
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by RusselB »

Realistically you're already there.
If you can upload/attach a sample of your source file, one of us might be able to figure out why it's not working.
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
nichollsvi
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by nichollsvi »

Its telephone data, so I can't publically list it, but I have an example. I can't find a way to upload a screenshot.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
User avatar
RusselB
Moderator
Posts: 6597
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 7:31 am
Location: Sarnia, ON

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by RusselB »

Screenshot would be useless.
When replying to this, use the PostReply button, not QuickReply.
On that screen there is a dialog that allows you to attach a file.
Please attach a copy of your example, not a screenshot.
OpenOffice 4.1.7, LibreOffice 7.0.1.2 on Windows 7 Pro, Ultimate & Windows 10 Home (2004)
If you believe your problem has been resolved, please go to your first post in this topic, click the Edit button and add [Solved] to the beginning of the Subject line.
User avatar
robleyd
Moderator
Posts: 4419
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 3:47 am
Location: Murbko, Australia

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by robleyd »

See Please don't attach documents containing confidential data for ways to anonymise your information.
Cheers
David
Apache OpenOffice 420m2(Build:9821) - Slackware 15 - 64 bit
LibreOffice 6.4.6.2 (SlackBuild for 6.4.6 by Eric Hameleers) - Slackware 15 - 64 bit
Apache OpenOffice 4.1.4 - Windows 7 Virtual machine
User avatar
Villeroy
Volunteer
Posts: 30793
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 1:35 am
Location: Germany

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by Villeroy »

He takes the tab symbol as right arrow. I bet, the columns are tab separated.
Attachments
Tab arrows in text import dialog
Tab arrows in text import dialog
Bildschirmfoto vom 2021-05-05 05-20-27.png (7.88 KiB) Viewed 2920 times
Please, edit this topic's initial post and add "[Solved]" to the subject line if your problem has been solved.
Ubuntu 18.04 with LibreOffice 6.0, latest OpenOffice and LibreOffice
nichollsvi
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2019 4:26 am

Re: [Solved] Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by nichollsvi »

Thank you - the tab solved the problem.
OpenOffice 4.1.5 on Windows 10
Bill
Volunteer
Posts: 8660
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:48 am

Re: Import from Ooma/ascii character separator

Post by Bill »

nichollsvi wrote:So you've taken a copy of it and put it in the actual other box? I can't get that to happen.
Works for me. I went to U+2192 RIGHTWARDS ARROW, clicked the "Copy to Clipboard" button, then right-clicked the Other box on the Text Import dialog and the rightwards arrow appeared in the box. However, in this case, the separator is not the rightwards arrow, but the more commonly used tab, which is represented by a similar non-printing arrow.
AOO 4.1.10 on Ubuntu MATE 21.04
Post Reply