[Solved] Function wizard displays correctly, but not in cell

Discuss the spreadsheet application
Post Reply
spgandau
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:13 am

[Solved] Function wizard displays correctly, but not in cell

Post by spgandau »

I have downloaded NEO office 2.2.2 patch2 and now OOo v2.3 to see if I can "fix" non-working functions.
Here is the brief description:
1. In NEO office, I used the function wizard to create my original functions. they would paste correctly about 50% of the time.
2. I then tried to hand enter the formulas in the formula bar. The cell did not display the results. It only displayed a text of the formula (i.e "=mid(N8; 2; 3) ).
3. I did get one formula to work, and copied / pasted it to other cells. They worked fine.
4. I then manually edited those working cells, and immediately the formula stopped displaying properly and a text of the formula was displayed.

I am trying to migrate from Excel to Neo office. However, when I checked the support site, I was told that I needed to try the calc sheet in OOo first and then if the same problem existed in OOo, the issue was most likely related to OOo...??

I am using a Macbook
Max OS X 10.4.11
Intel 1.83Ghz
512 RAM
Neo office 2.2.2 patch 2
OOo v 2.3
I have attached a sample SS with

Any input would be greatly appreciated!

Regards,

Scott
Attachments
_neo_help_one_sheet.ods
look at column "O" especially.
(19.54 KiB) Downloaded 357 times
Last edited by spgandau on Fri Nov 30, 2007 6:12 am, edited 2 times in total.
huw
Volunteer
Posts: 417
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2007 1:57 pm

Re: function wizard displays correctly, but not in cell

Post by huw »

The cells with the problem formulas are formatted as text.

The quickest way to fix this is to select column O
right click anywhere in it and choose the "Default" format option
then call up Find & Replace
activate "Regular expressions" and "Current selection only"
and Search for .* and Replace with &
i.e. Search for period asterisk, Replace with ampersand

This effectively rewrites all selected entries, allowing Calc to interpret them again, this time not forced as text.
spgandau
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Nov 29, 2007 4:13 am

Re: function wizard...etc resolved! thanks! :-)

Post by spgandau »

that was what I needed! Thank you! :)
things are working nicely now.

Regards,
Scott
Post Reply